About Us

Albert Lea Police Dept Coin Minnesota - side 2The Albert Lea Police Department is situated in the Law Enforcement section of the Freeborn County Government Center at 411 S. Broadway Ave. The Law Enforcement Center is occupied by both the Albert Lea Police Department and the Freeborn County Sheriff’s Office. This arrangement allows both departments to share the records keeping and dispatching functions.

The Police Department is comprised of twenty-six sworn officers. The organization structure consists of a Director of Public Safety, Deputy Director of Police, three Lieutenants, three Sergeants, three Detectives and fifteen Patrol Officers.  Civilian personnel serve in the capacity of Community Service Officers and Administrative Assistant.

Minnesota state law (Chapter 156 of the Session Laws of 2005) requires that "a city or county with a population of more than 15,000 must annually notify its residents of the positions and base salaries of its three highest-paid employees." For the City of Albert Lea, titles and salaries as of Jan. 1, 2015, are: City Manager, $118,037.40; Director of Public Safety $103,405.02; and Director of Public Works/City Engineer $100,342.42; Date of publication: Jan. 1, 2015.